Let them have it…

I am sitting here on the other end of a computer staring at a screen and I feel angry, no, make  that…really angry.  Why?  Well, in all honesty, and I can’t believe that I am going to be so blunt here, but just how f*****g stupid do people in Scotland need to be that they are happy to tactically vote for a Tory candidate in order to stop an SNP candidate being voted in?  Really!  Please someone tell me!  How stupid are they?

This Tory government are one of the most evil and incompetent government’s we have ever had and yet…and yet there are quite a number of clowns out there who are happy to vote for them.  Their contempt for the administrations in Scotland, Ireland and Wales by not even discussing Brexit with them is breathtaking.  Even now,  they still have no idea what they are going to do.  Oh yes, they posture and gesticulate to Europe, and for what?  For May to openly admit that she will walk away with no deal if she has to.  Already there are companies moving their successful businesses to an EU-based country.  This is only going to increase.  We are all going to suffer for this.  But hey, let’s vote for them as long as it isn’t the SNP.  If you vote for a Tory candidate then you support:

  • The Rape Clause
  • Infants losing their free meal at school
  • Old people having to use their houses as collateral for their care.

But…even more than that…you’re a traitor to your own country.  Are you really happy to see Scotland being pulled out of the EU against her wishes in order to stay in the UK?  Are you ready for the job losses, the economic collapse that will happen?  Is the UK worth that much to you?  Your own children’s, grand-children’s and their children’s futures will be very hard and for what?  An incompetent Tory government and a UK that doesn’t care about you or your country.

Is it really so bad that the SNP are asking that once we have seen the Brexit deal that the people of Scotland should be able to decide if it’s for them by having another referendum?  Is it really that bad?

The trouble is that the SNP have made it very easy for the other Parties to snipe at them because they have, by and large, been very good in not only Westminster, but Holyrood too.  Yes, they have made some mistakes and not everything goes to plan, but, and this is a very big point I have to make here:  they have protected the people of Scotland from the Bedroom Tax, Prescription charges, Uni fees and Winter Fuel Payments.  The NHS in Scotland is the best performing in the whole of the UK.  And still there are ungrateful gits out there moaning.  Even today, Nicola Sturgeon pledged to protect the care for the elderly.  So, I have an idea for the SNP (an idea which they’ll rightly ignore) stop protecting Scotland from the worst of this useless government.  Introduce uni fees, prescription charges, means-test Winter-Fuel Payments and bring in the Bedroom Tax.  Let the Scots take the full hit.  Labour, Tories and LibDems won’t be able to moan because those are the very policies they defend by wanting Scotland in the UK.  If those policies are good enough for the English and the Welsh then they’re good enough for the Scots.

You don’t know how good you have it in Scotland, you’re spoiled and it’s all thanks to successive SNP administrations.  If you want something to moan about come and live down in England, that’ll shut you up.  Actually it probably won’t, you’d still blame the SNP.

Let them have it Nicola, let them have it all.

About David J Steele

Christian | Husband | Dad | Scottish | Social Democrat | Ultravox |
This entry was posted in Politics and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Let them have it…

  1. Hugh Wallace says:

    I can’t help but agree 100%.

    There are times I really think we are too stupid to be an independent nation…

    Liked by 2 people

  2. If we ever get to a second independence referendum, and there is a second No vote, many of us will be leaving the country. I now have my Irish passport, along with many across the the UK, sorting out Plan B. I feel exactly the same about where we are now, but just as the Indy movement foresaw so much of this 3 years ago, we know what’s coming down the line if Scotland doesn’t get out.
    I absolutely do not want to leave my home, and the country I love, to set up in a new location, but I can’t bear to live here, if we vote No again.
    Things are bad right now with the Tory direction of travel, and Brexit hasn’t hit yet. If there is a second No vote, with Tories at WM, they will dismantle this country to cripple it for decades.

    Liked by 3 people

    • Toni says:

      I too would be tempted to leave in the event of a No vote. Unfortunately, I am coming to pension age, I will receive my state pension at the age of 64, at the end of this year.
      I am in a quandary, as I would love to retire, but I am terrified that if the Tories get in again, they will begin to dismantle the pension. I am wondering if I should keep my job, just in case!
      Then again if I retire, where could I go, with only the state pension and a small personal pension fund? I wonder how many other people of my age are in the same sad position?

      Liked by 1 person

    • Hugh Wallace says:

      I have similar plans. I’ve got my NZ passport and my other half has her Irish one. Shame about our friends and families and all the other people left behind, but what can you do?

      Like

  3. Irene penman says:

    Doesn’t bear thinking about does it. Vote SNP

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Shaun Crowther says:

    Wholeheartedly agree with every point you have made.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Fight the fight! Do not be thinking negative thoughts. We can really do this so get out there; and try to convince even just a few people. This is nowhere near over. We have to win the next Indy and we will!

      Like

  5. mullwharcharcom says:

    Well said. Understand and share frustration. Keep fighting because Scotland needs us to.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. hugh meikle says:

    The first answer to your question–WHY–is ORANGE!!!!!!!!!!!!
    It runs deep and is taught from a very early age.
    The second answer is the MASONS.

    There is a theme here and you have probably guessed already what it is, RELIGION.
    The scourge of the planet. RELIGION. and the sheep follow.

    The optimist in me is convinced that there are not enough of them to prevent Scotland getting its FREEDOM the next time we get to vote on it.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Harry Conway says:

      Hugh, Stay optimistic sometimes it’s the only thing that keeps us going, But I must question your second point( I will need to pass on the first i.e. OO But can assure you Masons owe no allegiance to any political party nor can they urge members to support political parties,Personally I will vote SNP until I have an alternative Scottish party to vote for then I will freely decide who deserves my support, So Hugh there may not be as many Neanderthals as you think, hope this brings a smile to your face, Aye Freedom.👍👍👍

      Liked by 1 person

  7. I too scratch my hear in wonder and grit my teeth in fury. So many people don’t give a toss about politics, find it boring, think politics has nothing to do with them, has no impact on their lives, are more concerned about pop stars and so-called celebs and the trivia surrounding their lives.

    Too many people still don’t know the difference between Holyrood and Westminster. And what you have missed from your list of Tory woes that will be heaped on us is the quashing of the Scottish Parliament will all powers eventually being taken back to Westminster. So many years of hard work to get it will be gone in a puff because people in Scotland just can’t be bothered.

    Many of our well known politicians from the past must be spitting tacks from their graves.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. A few days back I wrote on a FB ‘It’s time for the SNP to stop mitigating Tory policies’ people are taking the SNP for granted and still ask ‘what has he SNP done for me?’ without thinking. So I agree with your article 100%.

    The answer as to why many Scots voted No is complicated but Hugh Meikle’s reply has hit one of the nails on the head. Why? It’s a fundamental question and one that No people won’t answer. I know a few No folk and they have never once given me an answer. Surely if you are committed to a cause you’d want to defend it and get more folk on your side you’d be explaining why it’s so good but they don’t. You get SNP bad and indy bad and that’s about it.

    In recent weeks it has become clear that many Tories hold extremist views, some have been suspended from the party for sectarianism and racism (Stirling Councillors Alastair Majury and Robert Davies), Tory supporters like John William Buchan, Ruth’s photo op buddie, is a right wing BritNat extremist and currently under investigation by the Police for his online abuse, a dozen or so new Tory Councillors are alleged to have links to the OO, BNP and Britain First. In fact just hours after the #CE2017 the OO were claiming victory as many of its member were newly elected councillors for both Labour and Tory but more of the latter surprisingly. So when you ask one of these people the question why? They won’t answer. Should we expect them to come right out and tell us the horrible truth?

    Thankfully, there’s more to No folk than that but there are way too many of them who are and it needs to be challenged.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Brian Traynor says:

    Totally agree with what you have written. Personally I would not be able to face my children if I voted Tory as I would be destroying their future.
    I have used some of your words from ‘If you vote for a tory’ etc and added to my cover photo. I have added your name and date at the bottom. If you would prefer not then I will remove.
    https://www.facebook.com/brian.traynor.9
    cheers
    Brian

    Like

  10. Janet Docherty says:

    Me and the Wife ,that’s 2 votes so far for the SNP,postal ?can we have another two million Fair minded Scottish voters copying our lead,thank you ,Janet John Docherty ,Both Disabled Pensioners

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

